top of page

Designers Muse

Isaiah 61:10 I will greatly rejoice in the LORD, my soul shall be joyful in my God; for he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, he hath covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decketh himself with ornaments, and as a bride adorneth herself with her jewels.

As I was pondering over this verse and this recent part of my journey a thought struck me... Please be patient while I flesh this out...

My two favorite shows have been "What NOT To Wear" and "Project Runway" I love clothing, but more importantly how the right fit, color and style can transform ANYONE and can transmit any message they may want to send.

The stylists on the first show look at their client for exactly who they are and are able to direct this person to the best possible version of themselves! At first I thought "Yes, that is who God is in my life right now!! Nailed it!!!"

Yeah,...no...!

As I was watching the second show I realized God is the Ultimate Designer!! In His mind He thought of me, of my life, who I would come in contact with, where I would go and what I would do...and through His conceptualization CREATED my spiritual wardrobe!! A designer's greatest gift is to create form, function and BEAUTY from a simple concept or inspiration...and that's when it hit me...He is inspired by the concept of what I will be!! He already sees me in robes of righteousness!!! His vision is the design already created and on my shoulders...not the rags or hand-me downs I'm wearing now!!!

This is why the scripture in Isaiah speaks in PRESENT TENSE!!

"...for he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation, he hath covered me with the robe of righteousness..."

In His mind the sketch is already drawn, the fabric chosen and purchased, the pattern cut out, the pieces woven together!! It is already done...and I'm already wearing it...

bottom of page